Antonia Vidican seals an unexpected title!


The Romanian Karting Masters final crowned this season's last champions: Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor completed his course without hesitation to claim the Mini ROK category, while Antonia Vidican defeated the favorite Darren Betea in the Micro ROK category, in a dispute that has special significance not only through the lens of a victorious female presence, but also because it shows that the trophy from the most populated category may not always go to the biggest teams, anyone having a chance as long as they show such qualities.

Micro ROK

Pole Position: Robert Pulbere (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)
Round 1: Robert Pulbere (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)
Round 2: Robert Pulbere (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)
Round 3: Robert Pulbere (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)

2022 Champion: Antonia Vidican (Vidi Top Sport/PAROLIN/VORTEX /Levanto)

After a period of absence, Robert Pulbere returned to the championship with a new team and dominated the final weekend of the season in front of the title contenders, the second outstanding outsider of the round being Călin Costea (JMS Performance). Micro ROK was the only category that ended up having the 18th and final round with the ultimate stakes of winning the championship. After Makar Palshin (Borsch Racing) was ruled out of the calculations in the second race, we had a three-way final battle: Antonia Vidican (Vidi Top Sport) took points in all three heats away from Darren Betea (BRT), thus becoming 2022 champion. Illya Haza (Borsch Racing) also had some options, but he can't help but think about the idea that he would have been champion if he hadn't started competing in RKM only from the third stage.

Mini ROK

Pole Position: Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)
Leg 1: Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)
Leg 2: Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)
Round 3: Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)

2022 Champion: Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor (Gulstar Racing/KR/VORTEX/Levanto)

The season ended without any driver of this popular class able to snatch a race win from Bogdan Cosma-Cristofor. Only his absences from two rounds left the title to be sealed on the last day. The closest opponents this time were teammate Cristian Velciu and Real Racing driver David Nicolaie. The latter became vice-champion, while Velciu performed the necessary climb to take the bronze medal of the season, clawing back all the deficit that separated him from Patrick Săliștean (Autosally). Sonia Crivoiruc (Prejmer Circuit) extended her Mini ROK Ladies winning streak to 16 from 18 starts.

Junior ROK

Pole Position: Luca Paul Viișoreanu (Real Racing/TONY KART/VORTEX/Levanto)
Leg 1: Luca Paul Viișoreanu (Real Racing/TONY KART/VORTEX/Levanto)
Leg 2: Lev Krutogolov (Borsch Racing/TONY KART/VORTEX/Levanto)
Leg 3: Luca Paul Viișoreanu (Real Racing/TONY KART/VORTEX/Levanto)

2022 Champion: Luca Paul Viișoreanu (Real Racing/TONY KART/VORTEX/Levanto)

Lacking pressure once he had mathematically secured the title at the previous round, Luca Paul Viișoreanu performed casually and won, as has always been his habit this year, in two of the three legs. One race win went to Lev Krutogolov, who would have needed to beat Viișoreanu once more at the last start of the season, but the champion was no longer outclassed and thus David Cosma-Cristofor, absent at this stage, remained in second position in the general classification ahead of the Borsch Racing driver.

>GPR KARTING SERIES Rd.9-10 (1)... >GPR KARTING SERIES Rd.9-10 (2)... >GPR KARTING SERIES Rd.9-10 (3)...   ... [read all]